San Pablo Cathedral (San Pablo, Laguna)
San Pablo Cathedral was first established by the Augustinian friars in 1586, second church in 1629 and the present stucture was built in 1714. Its foundation was laid by Fr. Juan Labao in 1680. It has neo-classic facade with doric coupled columns and windows with triangular segmented pediments. It also has four-storey octagonal bell tower with lank and open windows.
The first church was built of stone in 1629 and the present one in 1714. The church facade's simple design is subtly neoclassic, emploting coupled Doric columns. A unique feature is the pediment of interlocking truangles and segmented shapes and a pointed arch that's softened by the roundness of a more blunted upper arch. Two balustrades flank the pediment, mounted on rectangular piers and embellished by a decorative round window. A newly attached 'porte-cochere' dominates the facade, breaking its flatness. A four-storey octagonal bell tower has alternating blind and open windows, and is crowned by a balustraded, pointed roof. The church is lent a Romanesque touch by the imposing dome of the transept.
- Galede, Pedro G. Philippine Church Facades. Quezon City: Filipiniana.net, 2007.
- Layug, Benjamin L. A Tourist Guide to Notable Philippine Churches. Quezon City: New Day Publication, 2007.